Ivory Coast join 8 other nations to ‘host and win’ AFCON

2 weeks ago 52
Ivory Coast join 8 other nations to 'host and win' AFCONIvory Coast won their third AFCON trophy by beating Nigeria 2-1 on Sunday

The Elephants of Ivory Coast etched their name in history as the ninth team to host and win the Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON).

In a thrilling final at the Alassane Ouattara Stadium, the Ivorians came from behind to defeat Nigeria 2-1, securing their place in the annals of African football glory.

The victory for Ivory Coast follows a trend set by other football powerhouses on the continent.

Having won their third trophy they now join eight other nations to have successfully hosted and won the AFCON tournament

Egypt – 1959, 1986, and 2006

  • Egypt, the record of the AFCON has hosted the tournament five times and won it three times.
  • The Pharaohs clinched it in 1959 and 1986 beating Sudan and Cameroon.
  • Their memorable triumph in 2006 saw them defeat Ivory Coast in a penalty shootout, showcasing the impact of home support on their success.
  • Remarkably, that feat led them to win in two subsequent editions in 2008 and 2010.
  • Meanwhile, they finished third in 1974 as hosts and lost and bowed out in the round of 16 after losing to South Africa in 2019 – the last time they hosted.

Ghana – 1963 and 1978

  • Ghana have hosted AFCON four times, winning twice as hosts in 1963 and 1978.
  • The Black Stars’ 1963 victory set the stage for their future successes in African football, defeating Sudan 3-0 in the final.
  • They beat Uganda in the 1978 editions.
  • They missed out on the trophy in 2000 when they co-hosted with Nigeria as South Africa eliminated them in the quarters.
  • The Black Stars also settled for third place in the 2008 edition.

Ethiopia – 1962  

  • Ethiopia hosted the championship three times, winning it once as hosts in 1962. The triumph over Egypt in the final highlighted Ethiopia’s rich footballing culture and history.
  • They finished fourth in 1968 as hosts
  • They exited in the third round in 1976

Nigeria – 1980 AFCON

  • Nigeria hosted the AFCON twice, winning in 1980 by defeating Algeria 3-0 in the final.
  • The victory in 1980 marked Nigeria’s rise to prominence in African football.
  • They however lost to Cameroon in the AFCON 2000 final, a tournament which was co-hosted with Ghana.

Algeria – 1990  

  • Algeria won their first AFCON title in 1990 when they hosted the tournament, beating Nigeria 1-0 in the final. The victory showcased Algeria’s strong team performance on home soil.

South Africa – 1996  

  • South Africa hosted and won the AFCON in 1996, marking their return to international football after apartheid.
  • The Bafana Bafana defeated Tunisia 2-0 in the final, symbolizing unity and healing through sport.
  • They hosted for the second time in 2013 but lost to Mali in the quarter-finals on penalties.

Sudan – 1970 AFCON

  • Sudan hosted the AFCON twice and won as hosts in 1970, defeating Ghana 1-0 in the final.
  • Since then, Sudan has not secured another title, but their 1970 triumph remains a significant achievement.
  • Before the 1970 triumph, they were the first to ever host the competition in 1957 but finished third as Egypt clinched the ultimate.

Tunisia – 2004  

  • Tunisia, a consistent presence in AFCON, has hosted the tournament three times, winning as hosts in 2004.
  • The 2004 victory, with a 2-1 win over Morocco in the final, solidified Tunisia’s status as a top African football nation.
  • The Carthage Eagles’ first attempt to host and win was in 1965 as they lost in the final to Ghana.
  • They also bowed out of the group stage in 1994.

Ivory Coast’s recent success adds another chapter to the legacy of nations hosting and conquering the AFCON, emphasising the importance of home advantage and the support of passionate football fans.

Read Entire Article